HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

2007 Deluxe with twin solo


in
Members Rides

50 Guests, 2 Users
dickim, iRideRoyalnVA
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 03, 2014, 04:57:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

 

Author Topic: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5  (Read 1767 times)

singhg5

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: 0
Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« on: April 15, 2011, 04:16:26 PM »
This post is divided into 3 parts due to photo space limitation.

Part I.  

Throttle position sensor voltage has been mentioned a few times but have not seen it done on our bikes. This is what I did - On the left side of motorcycle, there is a coupler attached to throttle body.  

The coupler has 3 wires (pic 15231A).  

1.  Top -  Blue/Black     =  Sensor wire
2.  Middle - Red/Blue    = Positive
3.  Bottom - Black       = Negative

To measure current flowing in these wires, the insulation can be pierced with a sharp lead of multimeter and when lead is withdrawn, the insulation seals sort of or apply glue / clear nail polish to the hole in insulation.  But I prefer Non-Piercing method that I tried and worked.  Pulled the coupler off from throttle body and looked inside.  There were 3 female plug holes, one corresponding to each wire. In addition to that, there was a small compartment next to each hole.  Pushed a strand of few copper wires inside the top small compartment so that it touches top hole (pic 15229A).

Connected the coupler to the throttle body and part of the copper wire was outside this connection (pic 15230A).
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 04:40:30 PM by singhg5 »
1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

singhg5

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 04:21:38 PM »
Part II.

Attached the Red lead of digital Multimeter to the copper wire (which is in contact with Blue/Black sensor wire) and Black lead of Multimeter to engine block, as ground.  Turned on the multimeter to read volts.  Turned on the ignition key and there was the Idle Throttle position voltage of 0.75 volts on my G5 (pic 15225A).  The manual specifies 0.6 +/- 0.2 volts.

When the throttle was turned to fully open position, the voltage was 4.01 volts (pic 15224A).  
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 04:31:22 PM by singhg5 »
1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

singhg5

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2011, 04:28:33 PM »
Part III.

To measure the operating voltage of the sensor, connected the Red/Blue plug to Red lead of multimeter and Black plug to Black lead of multimeter, and turned the meter and ignition on.  It read 4.99 volts (pic 15211A).  Manual specified 5 volts.  
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 04:43:14 PM by singhg5 »
1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

ScooterBob

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2564
  • Karma: 0
  • Yeah - I get it ....
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2011, 06:07:58 PM »
Singhg% - Do you have that set a little "fat" on purpose? Did we talk about that at one time?? I'm just curious ......  ;)
Spare the pig iron - spoil the part!

Ducati Scotty

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 6009
  • Karma: 0
  • 2010 Teal C5
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2011, 08:45:36 PM »
Aha!  Can we cheat and get a little less lean with the turn of a screw?

Scott

ScooterBob

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2564
  • Karma: 0
  • Yeah - I get it ....
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2011, 09:55:58 PM »
Aha!  Can we cheat and get a little less lean with the turn of a screw?

Scott

Son - I've made my life
Outta knowin' what the specs were
And knowing how to cheat 'em
If it don't run right .....

You gotta know what your volts are
Know what your amps are -
Know when to turn the screws
Know when you're done

You never twist your screws up
When your sittin' in the saddle
If going to cheat the sensors
You gotta know how to make it run ....

 ;) ...........  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Spare the pig iron - spoil the part!

Ducati Scotty

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 6009
  • Karma: 0
  • 2010 Teal C5
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2011, 10:33:51 PM »
Very poetic and creative.  Was there an answer in there?  ;)

GreenMachine

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 3008
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2011, 10:43:42 PM »
u get that with the final bill..poetic justice..indeed...
Oh Magoo you done it again

ScooterBob

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2564
  • Karma: 0
  • Yeah - I get it ....
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2011, 12:31:02 AM »
Very poetic and creative.  Was there an answer in there?  ;)

Yes - but it's complicated ...... and only Harikumar from the Factory and I know the REAL answer .... Hahaha! Email me for the rundown .....  ;)
Spare the pig iron - spoil the part!

olhogrider

  • Black C5
  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Karma: 1
  • 2012 C5
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2011, 01:17:42 AM »
Yes - but it's complicated ...... and only Harikumar from the Factory and I know the REAL answer .... Hahaha! Email me for the rundown .....  ;)

You and Kenny Rogers ;D

singhg5

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2011, 04:09:25 AM »
Singhg% - Did we talk about that at one time?? I'm just curious ......  ;)

No, we haven't talked about it, but I am all Ears. What is the message-PM me!
« Last Edit: April 16, 2011, 04:24:25 AM by singhg5 »
1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

jjoe256

  • Grease Monkey
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2011, 05:46:17 PM »
   Damn, those connections are small, but using your method I got the following numbers that seem to be in spec:

.591v at idle
3.76v full throttle (seems low but don't know and don't know what it means)

Operating: 4.97v

My bike never got more than 65mpg indicated, top speed,82mph, now with 18 tooth front sprocket and freer exhaust, 81 mph, don't know about mileage yet, but after breakin which I did by the book, I got 65mpg but not long thereafter it dropped to a consistent 55mpg indicated but the exhaust was immaculate when I took it off to replace broken head pipe a la ChrisG5. I'd like to do some touring on it and I just want to make sure everything is 5x5. I'd recommend the 18 tooth to any G-5 owner. Also, sometimes the bike feels like it has more power than usual. I just can't get a handle on what's going on.

ScooterBob

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2564
  • Karma: 0
  • Yeah - I get it ....
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2011, 07:35:11 PM »
Check your email, Jumpin' Joe!  ;)
Spare the pig iron - spoil the part!

Ducati Scotty

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 6009
  • Karma: 0
  • 2010 Teal C5
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2011, 02:13:16 AM »
I've been getting 55mpg consistently with a stock exhaust forever.  SB, send me the e-mail too!

Scott

jjoe256

  • Grease Monkey
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Karma: 0
Re: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Voltage on G5
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2011, 03:04:09 AM »
I've been getting 55mpg consistently with a stock exhaust forever.  SB, send me the e-mail too!

Scott

   I'd forward the email, but then I'd have to shoot you! Have you ever done a top speed on your C-5?