HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

Ladies In Red

in
Members Rides

38 Guests, 3 Users
olhogrider, wildbill, gizzo
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 21, 2014, 06:28:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Taking hills on a stock standard iron barrel  (Read 1310 times)

jedaks

• Bulleteer
Taking hills on a stock standard iron barrel
« on: May 07, 2011, 09:08:27 AM »
I was reading a post about piston problems when I came upon a reply from Ace.

Don't lug the engine up a hill in too-high of a gear. Keep the revs up in the middle rpms when taking hills.

I'm really new to this and I don't mean to be the village idiot, but what does that mean exactly?

Does that mean keep the revs up in a lower gear whilst taking hills? Please explain in simple language.

Kind Regards

The Garbone

• Shade Tree
  • Grand Gearhead
  • User Complaints: 22
Re: Taking hills on a stock standard iron barrel
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 01:12:08 PM »
Yes.
 ;)

Gary
57' RE Crusader 250
67' Ford Mustang
74' Catalina 27 "Knot a Clew"
95 RE Ace Clubman 535
01 HD 1200 Custom
07 RE 5spd HaCK

* all actions described in this post are fictional *

daves02ES

• Bulleteer
  • Thump Thump
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 04:21:30 PM »
My frequent rides are of about 60-80 miles in the foothills west of Denver and I go up in elevation 2,000+ ft.

On those roads, speeds are 25-40 MPH and I usually run in 2nd or 3rd gear (4 speed transmission) and 1/4-1/2 throttle. You don't want a slow thump-thump up hills, and need to keep the revs up a bit.