HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

The Mighty Bullet

in
Members Rides

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2014, 02:33:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: RE electricals  (Read 9018 times)

geoffbaker

Re: RE electricals
« Reply #30 on: May 27, 2009, 02:22:13 PM »
THREAD NECROMANCY

Anyway, quick question - would the motogadget be difficult to install by itself on a stock RE?  I am a board-level electrician, so I'm fine with working with things a bit, but I don't really want to spend two weeks rewiring the whole damned bike.  If it's just a couple of hours of plugging/unplugging/crimping/soldering, then I'm okay with that.  What's your take, oh master-RE wiring guru?

Well, depends on the bike. With a 2000 military, the electrics are considerably more primitive.

What the motogadget requires is that you run "logic" wires to your switches and "power" wires to the bulbs, horn, headlamp, starter etc. The "logic" wires are all small (20ga if I recall, but its all metric, you have to look on their site for conversion info) so they are easily run. The power wires depend on the device load... mounting on a new HD for instance would require heavy wire for the starter!

I ran all new wiring because I had bad wiring in the harness anyway and had no choice but to pull it all.

It would be easy - and a day's work - to just run new wiring where necessary and patch into old wires elsewhere. The horn, for instance, took me only 30 seconds to wire. But this is assuming you have the RE manual as well as the munit manual, have some basic electrical skills (soldering), and know how to use a multitester to trace wires.