HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

The Thunderdome

in
Members Rides

36 Guests, 4 Users (1 Hidden)
Adrian II, Superchuck, Philbomoog
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 17, 2014, 11:39:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ultra Noob here, what type of oil filter do I need For a C5 Military?  (Read 400 times)

Col_Shaggy

• Neophyte
First of all, I'm not mechanically inclined in the least. I just got a 2013 C5 Military and have run through the first 300 miles of my break in and I'm pretty confident I can do the oil change but I have no idea what the size or type of the oil filter is.
Is there a common type I can pick up at say Autozone or is it uncommon enough that I should just order an oil change kit off the nField site?
2013 C5 Military

Rich Mintz

• Grease Monkey
  • Daily rider in the city
Re: Ultra Noob here, what type of oil filter do I need For a C5 Military?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 06:46:59 PM »
It's uncommon. The oil change kits sold by NField Gear are worth buying -- they include not only the filter, but also all the O-rings, washers, and gaskets you might need. (These are the parts that make the tight seals. When I did my first oil change, I didn't see a need to change any of them, since my original parts were still in good shape. But some people change them every time regardless.)

Use this video as your guide: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo0IW8JVS_I

The oil change is pretty simple. I had never done one before but I managed without any trouble just by paying attention to the video and taking my time.

Col_Shaggy

• Neophyte
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 07:00:01 PM »
Thanks for the reply.
I guess I'll go order a couple of the kits.
2013 C5 Military

DanKearney

• Grease Monkey
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2013, 09:46:05 PM »
Howdy all,