HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

Improved Ram Air Duct

in
Members Rides

58 Guests, 1 User
High On Octane
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 23, 2014, 01:35:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How Much Will an RE Carry? And Will It cClimb a Mountain?  (Read 6499 times)

NC Newbie

• Neophyte
How Much Will an RE Carry? And Will It cClimb a Mountain?
« on: July 21, 2008, 12:46:40 AM »
I am certain that these questions have been covered before, but please be patient since this is my first time on this forum.

My wife and I are considering the purchase of an RE, probably a 500 Deluxe.  We are not “light-weight” people; will it haul over 400 combined lbs. of “us” around?  What sustained highway speed can we anticipate with two aboard?  How comfortable is this bike for two?

To head west from our home in Western North Carolina, we would have to climb a mountain on I-40 – no other choice besides one gravel road.  How would such a bike perform climbing a 6-7% grade for about five miles with both on board?  I know it wouldn’t maintain the 55 mph speed limit, but how much of an “obstacle” are we realistically apt to present to other traffic?

And is there anything else which you veterans can impart to a total tyro before he “takes the RE plunge”? 

In other words, what questions have I not the good sense to ask?

Jeff Dreibus

Blue Ridge Wheeltor

• Grand Gearhead
Re: How Much Will an RE Carry? And Will It cClimb a Mountain?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 09:40:11 PM »
Jeff,
I assume you are considering buying from the dealer in Marion (seems like a good guy). I run about 220 and personally wouldn't take on Old Fart Mtn on 40 with a broken in Enfield, let alone a new one. Consider taking 70 to Bat cave Rd in Old Fart to Old Fart Rd to 9 in Black Mtn. Let the wife drive the cage.