HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

Temp

in
Members Rides

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 06, 2015, 05:44:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: catastrophic(?) engine failure  (Read 1099 times)

no bs

• Grease Monkey
  • if it's got two wheels i'm on it
Re: catastrophic(?) engine failure
« Reply #75 on: March 05, 2015, 06:02:58 PM »
if by pushed harder you mean keeping up with traffic on I-80 during commute, then yes. probably.
killing bugs since 1972 2011 g5 deluxe

singhg5

• Grand Gearhead
« Reply #76 on: March 05, 2015, 07:38:20 PM »
Beyond basic servicing I'm no mechanic, but it makes me think that replacing the valve might be a worthwhile preventative project.

Mind you I stick to 90 or 95kph as my top speed,
?

This is just my opinion that there is no need of knee jerk reaction for replacing exhaust valve of all the bikes or create fear amongst riders that their engine is ready to explode at any time.

There are thousands of REs running for several years without any issue with exhaust valve. Of the very few cases that have only recently come to light, the cause of broken valve has not been established. A part can break by conditions unrelated to the part itself - abuse, overheating, lack of oil, blocked oil channel, alignment, valve spring, etc. etc... Until the cause is known and fully established, how will replacing the valve fix the problem ?

If you are riding at 90 to 95 kph as your top speed, that is perfectly within the engine limits - best way to ride RE - enjoy the leisurely ride, it is made for that :).

There should be thorough examination of these engines by knowledgeable experts (such as ACE.CAFE), get detailed information from the owner of riding conditions, riding history and other relevant information that aids in finding the cause.