HPRE

Menu

Members Rides

Paid in Full!


in
Members Rides

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 26, 2014, 01:57:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length

 

Author Topic: is it easy to change throttle cables?  (Read 194 times)

Sectorsteve

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Karma: 0
is it easy to change throttle cables?
« on: November 16, 2014, 12:31:52 AM »
Is it?

Sectorsteve

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 12:40:36 AM »
Does it mean talking tank off?

JVS

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Karma: 0
  • I love chicken
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2014, 12:56:30 AM »
Does it mean talking tank off?

Yes. It's straightforward to take the tank off. Just make sure you keep a lot of towels or something like that on the tank when removing it, so that it doesn't hit the handlebar etc. Also make sure to take care of the fuel pump nozzle when you're removing the rear tank bolt. After that it is a quick job to replace the throttle cables. Just make sure when you use the spare cable, you match up the longer (I think) side on the top of the throttle body, as shown in the second link below.

Tank vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1mn2JVPmac
Throttle cable mark: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=m1AO6FRbKSY#t=48s
Sons continuing wars, our fathers were enemies


singhg5

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2014, 01:03:21 AM »
As pointed out by JVS, you will need take off the tank to replace throttle cables. They run under the tank.

Starting from right handlebar, the cables go through headlight casing to the LEFT side, then they follow along the central bar of frame under the tank and finally come out on the RIGHT side at the throttle body.

Here is another picture of their path behind headlight from LEFT side -
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 03:42:54 AM by singhg5 »
1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

wildbill

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2014, 01:55:17 AM »
sectorsteve
GHG gave me a very good tip and well worth knowing. prior to the tank removal use a hair drying on the rubber hose to the fuel outlet. just on a low warm setting to soften the rubber for a couple of minutes - it will then SLIDE of the outlet easily.
you can get at the rear tank bolt without a hitch and that move alone could save you buying a $400 fuel pump if youy socket slips off the bolt and snaps off the plastic outlet to the fuel line.
plus a trip to motociclo...lol
GHG great tip should be sitting up for ever-one to see and take notice especially those like me who were unaware.
until he mentioned it I didn't like the idea of touching that tank or fuel line at all.
also remember once you remove it

1. front and rear bolts
2. plug on far side of fuel pump - unplug it. I forget it was there and almost yanked it off!
3 clip plug above your kickstart near the injector which hooks up to the low fuel light
2011 C5 black/chrome
2012 C5 maroon/chrome 
2013 B5 black
2014 Continental gt
2014 C5 tan/cheery - upgrades and work in progress

2004 mazda-speed miata
2001 bmw z3 2.2

JVS

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Karma: 0
  • I love chicken
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2014, 02:54:51 AM »
The fuel hose came off easily from the nozzle for me also. Just gotta be gentle lol.
Sons continuing wars, our fathers were enemies


Sectorsteve

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2014, 03:13:58 AM »
Thanks heaps guys. Its the next job after increasing air intake hole size which im doing now

mattsz

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Karma: 0
  • moto-gurdyist
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2014, 12:20:26 PM »
Thanks heaps guys. Its the next job after increasing air intake hole size which im doing now

Steve - please post another thread about your intake hole increase.  It's been mentioned a couple times, but some more detailed pics would be great!

Captwilly

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2014, 07:38:45 PM »
Like the others have mentioned use towels because there is a sharp casting under the handlebar clamp and it will surely chip the paint. The dealer where I bought my bike had a couple of new bikes with paint chips in that same spot.

Sectorsteve

  • Grand Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
  • Karma: 0
Re: is it easy to change throttle cables?
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2014, 10:31:38 PM »
Steve - please post another thread about your intake hole increase.  It's been mentioned a couple times, but some more detailed pics would be great!

hi mattz.
after inspection my intake hole already big so i.left it alone.